Chapter History

Chapter Charter Photo

In September 2001, a group of ambitious ladies conceived the dream of chartering a new chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Their vision was to service a community that did not benefit from Alpha Kappa Alpha’s mission. The group held its first meeting on October 28, 2001 in Wendell, North Carolina. The group became known as the East Wake Ivy Club. The members actively sought to recruit inactive and general status members. As enthusiasm and interest strengthened, the members made a strong presence in the northeastern regions of Wake County by conducting High Blood Pressure, Stork, Teen Pregnancy, and Breast Cancer Awareness programs. It did not stop there; the club reached out to the community by providing needed school supplies to a local elementary school, collecting warm coats for children, visiting residents of a rest home, and delivering Thanksgiving and Christmas meals and gifts to a low income family. The members also benefited from the clubs organizations through workshops and social events.

In early 2003, members of the East Wake Ivy Club Charter Committee met with the fifteenth Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, Caroline L. Lattimore, Ph.D. The Mid-Atlantic Regional Director Lattimore and her Executive Team worked with the club and assisted them in preparing their Charter Application to the present to the Corporate Directorate. The application was approved in the spring of 2004 and the Charter Ceremony was scheduled.

On August 28, 2004, the East Wake Ivy Club became the Chi Rho Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. The Chartering Ceremony was held at the Holiday Inn-Brownestone in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina. The fifteenth Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, Caroline L. Lattimore, Ph.D. conducted the ceremony, initiating twenty-six former members of the East Wake Ivy Club into the new chapter. The twenty-six charter members are Natasha Adwaters, Donnie Alston, Kimberly Beatty, Tameka Bowden, Janie Bright, Kecia Burks, Wendy Chaney, Chrystal Fray Davis, Michelle Dobbins Jovita Gatling, Cynthia Giles, Anita Green, Pamela Harris, Gina Hobbs, Kris Horton, Marcenia Jones-Wilson, Robbin King, Monette Montgomery-Daniels, Brenda Mutisya, Mary Robinson, Asha Rucker, Crystal Creech Shepherd, Arlinda Taylor, Letisa Vereen, Carol Young, and Vicky Young.

Today, Chi Rho Omega continues the tradition begun with the East Wake Ivy Club. Our membership continues to grow as we reclaim and reactivate members. We are expanding our service programs to increase the number and scope of our endeavors. Our impact on Eastern Wake County, North Carolina will be felt for generations to come.

Past Chapter Presidents

Chrystal Fray Davis 2004 – 2005
Tameka Little 2005 – 2007
Janie Bright 2008 – 2010
Linda W. Butler 2011 – 2011
Nadine V. Stewart 2011 – 2014
Erica C. Barnhill 2015 – 2016
Vicky Young 2017 – 2018
Leigha Morris 2019 – 2020